[Racist in Sevilla] true experience

Well if you want me to name you some of the most racist/sexist things in sevilla, IF I TRY, I can give you about 100 in one min, IF I TRY!!, it isnt impossible. While some of the sevillian always said to me about how people “describinate” them when they are in the north. Well, I am really not making other people rightful if I say “what goes around comes around”, not necessary to believe the karma, but think about the same attitude, and what it might bring you back.

About an year ago, some people told me there is some free spanish class in a “social” place, where nearby the calle San Luis, I went by one day when there were a class, but I was late(I couldn’t be more sorry about it, but i wasn’t intend to interrupt anybody or the class, was just looking for somebody to ask for the informations). So, since I was there when the class was still on, I stayed for the last mins with the class without understanding much. Finally in the end the people talked about when is the “next class”. I went by again the next class, and the teacher told me before I could enter and sit down – it is better if I go to other class, the “beginner” one. I was fine with it, but I thought since I was there(30 mins of walking), I could just join them by listening, maybe? But the teacher told me to leave, I had to, so I left.

After that I started to go to this beginner class, and this teacher I met before started to give me very strange smile, like she didn’t want to smile to me but have to, but well, really it could be just my imiganation. I mean, why would a person who voluteer for immigrant being “special” to a immigrant? But for a few row of times I see her, she kept giving this face and tried to avoid to even say Hi to me, I thought that must be some sort of misunderstanding, but I am pretty sure I havent see her any other time in any other place to be able to have one “misunderstanding”.

One day, I met her in the street, this time the spanish class had stop for some time, i tried to be friendly and asked her the information, I started to speak very lousy spanish, and she didnt even try to understand, before I could finish a sentence, she keep telling me that “you cant speak spanish, and you dont speak spanish….” I think I know that perfectly well, but well I try to fix one setence, and eveutually I did too, I said that I was looking for the infos, and “obviously” she did understand it, and gave me the infos in a very awful way, like – just take this and leave me alone! After this experience with her, I imaged she had some problem with me, but it seems espeically she is attacking my ability to speak spanish “being a spanish teacher for the immigrante” it is “NOT” espeically weird??

I said this to a few people, and no body would believe anything I said, most of the people think i am being stupid and over-reacting, becuase most people always think its so aggresive if you say the people are being racist, its like accusing them too (espeically when sevillian people so into about making racist “freiendly” jokes). Until one day I went out with a friend, and we saw the social place was open, it was september 2009, and I thought well its about to start the class again, we went inside and there were her, she was in a class again(but normally there always have people, so we were just looking around for somebody there), we couldnt be more sorry, and I tried again to ask about the info, these time i try very hard to pick up all the words and I thought I made the stenece understandable, she looked to me with the face – what the fuck? and she said again something like ” you dont speak spanish!” (well, thank you very much for pointing that out, I didnt even notice, and now i feel so encouraged.) And she turned to my friend, said in a very quick sevilla way that “she know exactly when the class will be and where it will be! and we have to leave NOW.” My friend was confsued… “she didn’t know, and that’s why we came and asked about it.” Now she walked to us and kinda force us to go out of the door. she keep repeating to my friend “she knows!” And the world knows that I didn’t.

The story ends, all the things I gained was for one friend to believe me this really “happened” because he was there. When I talked about this experience again, some people still tell me to stop being sensitive, and finaly I never went back to this “social” place for spanish class.

One thing we should be aware of is, no body is really that GOD-GIVING “anti-destriminate”, I had met very facist people in anti-fracist group and i had met very sexist woman in the woman group, sexist gay/lesbian/queer too. Like alot of people’s fav quote to me “hilter was a vegetarian”, likewise, you can be in all that you want, and stay in all the activity you can, but that couldn’t make you anything, unless you are aware of it and unless you think it deeply and making it a life practice, or you are still going to be a racist/facist/sexist and brainless person.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

